Permanent Staff

Dirk Ryckbosch
ICECUBE, SOLID

Tel. +32 9 264 65 43

dirk.ryckbosch@ugent.be
Didar Dobur
CMS

Tel. +32 9 264 65 28

didar.dobur@ugent.be
Michael Tytgat
CMS, CALICE, RD51

Tel. +32 9 264 65 44

michael.tytgat@ugent.beTwitter

Research Staff

Tom Cornelis
CMS

More information

Master thesis: Design of a cosmic test bench for the quality control of Resistive Plate Chamber detectors for the CMS experiment, UGent (2011)

PhD thesis: Measurement of the electroweak production of a Z boson in association with two jets at CMS, UAntwerpen (2015)

tom.cornelis@ugent.be
Alessio Porcelli
ICECUBE - COSMIC RAYS

More information

Bachelor thesis: “A theoretical model of Laser-Plasma interaction at high intensity” at Università degli Studi di Pisa, Pisa

Master thesis: “Study of the systematics of the electromagnetic calorimeter of the MEG experiment in search of the μ eγ decay with a branching ratio sensitivity of the order of 10−13” at Università degli Studi di Pisa, Pisa

PhD thesis: “Measurement of the Depth of Shower Maximum in the Transition Region between Galactic and Extragalactic Cosmic Rays with the Pierre Auger Observatory” at Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, Karlsruhe

Previous Postodoc experiences: Cherenkov Telecope Array at the Université de Genève, Geneva; Borexino at Johannes Gutenberg Universität, Mainz

Alessio.Porcelli@ugent.beOrcid
Marek Niedziela
CMS
marek.niedziela@ugent.be
Kirill Skovpen
CMS
kirill.skovpen@ugent.be
Nikolaos Zaginidis

2009-2020

CMS - RPC and GEM

PhD Students

Alexis Fagot
CMS

More information

Graduated from the Master of Physics (Subatomic Physics) in 2012 at the University of Lyon 1.
Master 1 internship : Optical spectrometry using photoelectron imaging applied to the study of Naphthalene (LASIM - University Lyon 1)
Master 2 internship : Kinematic analysis of muon neutrino charged currents in neutrino interactions (IPNL - University Lyon 1)
PhD topic : Consolidation and longevity of the CMS Resistive Plate Chamber system in view of the High- Luminosity LHC Upgrade

Alexis.Fagot@ugent.beGithub
Sander Vanheule
ICECUBE

More information

Masterthesis in 2013: "Design of a glass resistive plate chamber for the upgrade of the Compact Muon Solenoid muon system"

Date: 2013

PhD topic

Date:

Sander.Vanheule@UGent.be
Antoine Pingault
CALICE
Antoine.Pingault@ugent.be
Ianthe Michiels
SOLID

More information

Masterthesis in 2015: Investigation of the muon background for the NEMENIX prototype of the SoLid experiment"

Date: 2015

PhD topic


Date: 

Ianthe.Michiels@UGent.be
Willem Verbeke
CMS
willem.verbeke@ugent.be
Martina Vit
CMS
martina.vit@ugent.be
Christos Roskas
CMS

More information

BSc: Graduated in 2013 at the Aristotle's University of Thessaloniki.

MSc: Graduated in 2016 at the Universiteit van Amsterdam

Master thesis: Commissioning of a silicon photomultipliers readout and cooling for the LHCb Scintillating Fibers Tracker

Christos.Roskas@UGent.beLinkedIn
Giel Vandierendonck
SOLID

More information

Masterthesis in 2017: "Development of a neutrontrigger on 6LiF:ZnS(Ag) scintillator signals for the SoLid collaboration"


Date: 2017

PhD topic:


Date:

Giel.Vandierendonck@UGent.be
Basile Vermassen
CMS

More information

Masterthesis in 2017: "Trigger Development with dijet veto at sqrt(s) = 13 TeV for the CMS experiment" 


Date: 2017

PhD topic:


Date: 

basile.vermassen@ugent.be
Gianny Mestdach
CMS

More information

Masterthesis in 2018: "Effective Field Theory operators in top physics"
 
Date: 2018
 
PhD topic: 
 
Date: 

Gianny.Mestdach@UGent.be
Liam Wezenbeek
CMS

More information

Masterthesis in 2018: "A study of the production mass as a discriminating variable in a supersymmetry search at the LHC"


Date: 2018

PhD topic: 


Date:

Liam.Wezenbeek@UGent.be
Stef Verpoest
ICECUBE/ICETOP

More information

Masterthesis in 2018: "Search for particles with fractional charges in IceCube based on anomalous energy loss."

 

Date: 2018

PhD topic:


Date: 

Stef.Verpoest@UGent.be
Tu Thong Tran
CMS

More information

Masters thesis: A search for excited B_s states at the LHCb experiment

PhD topic: Study Electroweak couplings of the top quark in ttV

TuThongTran@UGent.be
Bob Oeyen
IceCube
bob.oeyen@ugent.beLinkedIn
Luka Lambrecht
CMS
luka.lambrecht@ugent.be
Amrutha Samalan
CMS
amrutha.samalan@ugent.be

Master Students

Steven Mortier
e-mail
Margot Van Cauwenberghe

Graduated PhDs

Illia Khvastunov
CMS

2015-2019

2015-2019 PhD: "Search for supersymmetry and the measurement of top pair production in association with a W or Z boson with the CMS detector at the LHC"

LinkedIn
Sam De Ridder
IceCube/IceTop

2011-2019

2012-2019 PhD: "Sensitivity of IceCube Cosmic Ray measurements to the hadronic interaction models."

2011-2012 Master: "Influence of South Pole atmosphere on cosmic rays observed by IceCube"

sam.deridder@ugent.be
Ward Van Driessche
IceCube

2013-2018

2014-2018: Phd "Search for new physics in the IceCube detector"

2013-2014: Master "Search for new physics with long-lived particles decaying into photons using LHC proton-proton collisions"

LinkedIn
Moortgat Celine
SOLID

2013-2018

2014-2018 PhD: "The SoLid antineutrino detector: construction and commissioning with cosmic ray muons"

2013-2014 Master: "Investigation of muon background in the prototype antineutrino detector for the SoLid experiment"

Celine.moortgat@icloud.com
Deniz Poyraz
CMS

2013-2018

2013-2018 PhD: Measurement of the ttZ cross section at CMS

poyrazdeniz@gmail.comLinkedIn
Sinem Salva
CMS

2013-2018

2013-2018 PhD: "A micro-pattern gas detector based muon system for the CMS experiment at the high-luminosity LHC"
 
Nadja Strobbe
CMS

2010-2015

2019-current: Assistant professor of physics at the University Of Minnesota

2015-2019 Research associate at Fermilab (US)

2011-2015 PhD: "The Razor Boost analysis : another step in the hunt for new physics at CMS"

2010-2011 Master: "Event Selection optimization for (b-)jets plus lepton supersymmetry searches with the CMS detector"

nadja.strobbe@cern.ch
Kelly Beernaert
CMS

2010-2015

2011-2015 PhD: "Measurement of spin correlations in tt-bar systems in the muon+jets channel using a matrix element method with the CMS detector at the LHC"

2010-2011 Master: "Systematic uncertainties for photons in all-hadronic supersymmetry searches with the CMS detector"

LinkedIn
Karim Al Abd
ICECUBE, SOLID

2011-2015

2011-2015 PhD: "Measurement of the cosmic ray energy spectrum between 500 TeV and 100 PeV with IceTop"

abd.hajismail@gmail.com
Tom Feusels
IceCube/IceTop

2006-2013

2007-2013 PhD: "Measurement of cosmic ray composition and energy spectrum between 1 PeV and 1 EeV with IceTop and IceCube."
2006-2007 Master: "Coincidentiemetingen van kosmische straling tussen de IceTop en de InIce detector op Antarctica"

feusels.tom@gmail.comWebsite

Previous Research Staff

Efe Yazgan
CMS
Efe.Yazgan@cern.ch
Daniele Trocino
CMS

2017-2019

Participated in the data analysis for the CMS experiment, especially searches on new physics.

Current position: research scientist at INFN Torino

Graduated Master Students

Simon De Kockere

2017-2018

Jana Roels
CMS

2018-2019

LinkedIn
Joshua Clercx
CMS

2018-2019

LinkedIn
Simon De Kock
SOLID

2018-2019

LinkedIn

Secretary

Linda Schepens
SECRETARY
Tel. +32 9 264 65 28
Linda.Schepens@UGent.be