Please note: this page could be displayed suboptimal if you use an adblocker.

Permanent Staff

Dirk Ryckbosch
ICECUBE, SOLID

Tel. +32 9 264 65 43

dirk.ryckbosch@ugent.be+32 9 264 65 43
Didar Dobur
CMS

Tel. +32 9 264 65 28

didar.dobur@ugent.be+32 9 264 65 28
Michael Tytgat
CMS, CALICE, RD51

Tel. +32 9 264 65 44

+32 9 264 65 44michael.tytgat@ugent.beTwitter page
Archisman Ghosh
LIGO-Virgo
archisman.ghosh@ugent.be

Research Staff

Daniela Pascucci
LIGO-Virgo
daniela.pascucci@ugent.be
Gergely Dálya
LIGO-Virgo

More information

2015-current: LIGO-Virgo

2017-2021: PhD thesis "Multi-messenger Astronomy and Source Parameter Estimation with Gravitational Waves"

gergely.dalya@ugent.be
Joscha Knolle
CMS
joscha.knolle@ugent.be
Kirill Skovpen
CMS

More information

2019-now: Post-doctoral researcher at University of Ghent

2016-2019: FWO Post-doctoral researcher at VUB, Brussel

2013-2016: CNRS Post-doctoral researcher at IPHC, Strasbourg

PhD thesis: Поиск WR-бозона и тяжелого нейтрино на детекторе ATLAS (Search for WR-boson and heavy neutrino with the ATLAS detector), Novosibirsk BINP (2007-2012)

kirill.skovpen@ugent.be

PhD Students

Freija Beirnaert
LIGO-Virgo
freija.beirnaert@ugent.be
Niels Van den Bossche
CMS
niels.vandenbossche@ugent.be
César Rendon
CMS instrumentation/GEM
cesar.rendon.hinestroza@cern.ch
Sander Vanheule
ICECUBE

More information

2013-current: IceCube

2012-2013: Master thesis "Design of a glass resistive plate chamber for the upgrade of the Compact Muon Solenoid muon system"

Sander.Vanheule@UGent.be
Antoine Pingault
CALICE
Antoine.Pingault@ugent.be
Willem Verbeke
CMS

More information

2016-current: CMS (SUSY, heavy neutral leptons, tZq)

2015-2016: Master thesis "Data driven WZ background estimation for SUSY searches with multiple leptons at the energy frontier, LHC"

willem.verbeke@ugent.beLinkedIn
Martina Vit
CMS

More information

2016-current: CMS (heavy neutral leptons)

2015-2016: Master thesis at INFN Torino, Italy

martina.vit@ugent.beLinkedIn
Giel Vandierendonck
SOLID

More information

2017-current: SoLid

2016-2017: Master thesis "Development of a neutrontrigger on 6LiF:ZnS(Ag) scintillator signals for the SoLid collaboration"


Giel.Vandierendonck@UGent.be
Basile Vermassen
CMS

More information

Current: CMS (heavy neutral leptons)

2016-2017: Master thesis "Trigger Development with dijet veto at sqrt(s) = 13 TeV for the CMS experiment" 


basile.vermassen@ugent.be
Gianny Mestdach
CMS

More information

2018-current: CMS (top quark pair plus photon)

2017-2018: "Effective Field Theory operators in top physics"

Gianny.Mestdach@UGent.be
Liam Wezenbeek
CMS

More information

2018-current: CMS (heavy neutral leptons)

2017-2018: Master thesis "A study of the production mass as a discriminating variable in a supersymmetry search at the LHC"


Liam.Wezenbeek@UGent.be
Stef Verpoest
ICECUBE/ICETOP

More information

2018-current: IceCube

2017-2018: Master thesis "Search for particles with fractional charges in IceCube based on anomalous energy loss."

Stef.Verpoest@UGent.be
Tu Thong Tran
CMS

More information

PhD topic: Study Electroweak couplings of the top quark in ttV

Masters thesis: A search for excited B_s states at the LHCb experiment

TuThongTran@UGent.be
Bob Oeyen
IceCube

More information

2019-current: IceCube

2018-2019: Master thesis "De invloed van hadronische interactiemodellen op IceTop waveforms nabij het centrum van een extensive air shower" (IceCube)

bob.oeyen@ugent.beLinkedIn
Luka Lambrecht
CMS

More information

Current: CMS (tZq)

2018-2019: Master thesis "Lepton identification with machine learning algorithms in proton-proton collisions at the intensity frontier"  (CMS)

luka.lambrecht@ugent.be
Amrutha Samalan
CMS

More information

2019-current: CMS (instrumentation/RPC)

amrutha.samalan@ugent.be

Master Students

Previous Research Staff

Alessio Porcelli
ICECUBE - COSMIC RAYS

2019-2021

Alessio.Porcelli@ugent.beOrcid
Marek Niedziela
CMS

2019-2021

PhD thesis: Precise jet measurements and search for supersymmetric particles with the CMS experiment, Universität Hamburg (2015-2018)

marek.niedziela@ugent.be
Nikolaos Zaginidis
CMS

2009-2020

RPC and GEM

nicolas.zaganidis@cern.ch
Tom Cornelis
CMS

2016-2020

2016-2020: CMS (SUSY, heavy neutral leptons, top physics, electron/photon triggers)

2011-2015 PhD thesis "Measurement of the electroweak production of a Z boson in association with two jets at CMS", University of Antwerp

2010-2011 Master thesis "Design of a cosmic test bench for the quality control of Resistive Plate Chamber detectors for the CMS experiment", University of Ghent

LinkedIn
Daniele Trocino
CMS

2017-2019

Participated in the data analysis for the CMS experiment, especially searches on new physics.

Current position: research scientist at INFN Torino

LinkedIntrocino@cern.ch
Mathieu Labare
IceCube/SoLid

2013-2018

2013-2018: Post-doctoral researcher at Ghent University (IceCube and SoLid)

2010-2012: Post-doctoral researcher at VUB, Brussel (IceCube)

2006-2009: PhD "Search for Cosmic Sources of High Energy Neutrinos with the AMANDA-II detector" at ULB, Brussel

LinkedIn
Robert Schöfbeck
CMS

2015-2016

2017-current: Staff at HEPHY

2016-2017: Scientific Associate at CERN

2015-2016: Visiting Scientist at Ghent University

2009-2015: Research position at HEPHY, Vienna, Austria

2005-2008: PhD "Precise predictions for the masses of supersymmetric fermions including two-loop corrections"

robert.schoefbeck@oeaw.ac.at
Efe Yazgan
CMS

2011-2015

2016-current: Institute of High Energy Physics, Beijing, China

2011-2015: Post-doctoral researcher at Ghent University (top quark analyses, CMS)

2007-2011: Post-doctoral researcher at Texas Tech University, USA

2007: PhD at Middle East Technical University, Ankara, Turkey

Efe.Yazgan@cern.ch

Graduated PhDs

Christos Roskas
CMS

2016-2021

MSc: Graduated in 2016 at the Universiteit van Amsterdam

Master thesis: Commissioning of a silicon photomultipliers readout and cooling for the LHCb Scintillating Fibers Tracker

BSc: Graduated in 2013 at the Aristotle's University of Thessaloniki.

Christos.Roskas@UGent.beLinkedIn
Ianthe Michiels
SOLID

2015-2020

Ianthe.Michiels@UGent.be
Alexis Fagot
CMS

2013-2020

Graduated from the Master of Physics (Subatomic Physics) in 2012 at the University of Lyon 1.
Master 1 internship : Optical spectrometry using photoelectron imaging applied to the study of Naphthalene (LASIM - University Lyon 1)
Master 2 internship : Kinematic analysis of muon neutrino charged currents in neutrino interactions (IPNL - University Lyon 1)
PhD topic : Consolidation and longevity of the CMS Resistive Plate Chamber system in view of the High- Luminosity LHC Upgrade

Github
Illia Khvastunov
CMS

2015-2019

2015-2019 PhD: "Search for supersymmetry and the measurement of top pair production in association with a W or Z boson with the CMS detector at the LHC"

LinkedIn
Sam De Ridder
IceCube/IceTop

2011-2019

2012-2019 PhD: "Sensitivity of IceCube Cosmic Ray measurements to the hadronic interaction models."

2011-2012 Master: "Influence of South Pole atmosphere on cosmic rays observed by IceCube"

sam.deridder@ugent.be
Ward Van Driessche
IceCube

2013-2018

2014-2018: Phd "Search for new physics in the IceCube detector"

2013-2014: Master "Search for new physics with long-lived particles decaying into photons using LHC proton-proton collisions"

LinkedIn
Moortgat Celine
SOLID

2013-2018

2014-2018 PhD: "The SoLid antineutrino detector: construction and commissioning with cosmic ray muons"

2013-2014 Master: "Investigation of muon background in the prototype antineutrino detector for the SoLid experiment"

Celine.moortgat@icloud.com
Deniz Poyraz
CMS

2013-2018

2013-2018 PhD: Measurement of the ttZ cross section at CMS

poyrazdeniz@gmail.comLinkedIn
Sinem Salva
CMS

2013-2018

2013-2018 PhD: "A micro-pattern gas detector based muon system for the CMS experiment at the high-luminosity LHC"
 
LinkedIn
Nadja Strobbe
CMS

2010-2015

2019-current: Assistant professor of physics at the University Of Minnesota

2015-2019 Research associate at Fermilab (US)

2011-2015 PhD: "The Razor Boost analysis : another step in the hunt for new physics at CMS"

2010-2011 Master: "Event Selection optimization for (b-)jets plus lepton supersymmetry searches with the CMS detector"

nadja.strobbe@cern.chLinkedIn
Kelly Beernaert
CMS

2010-2015

2019-current: Data analyst at Ibeo Automotive Systems GmbH

2015-2019: Post-doctoral researched at DESY, Hamburg, Germany

2011-2015 PhD: "Measurement of spin correlations in tt-bar systems in the muon+jets channel using a matrix element method with the CMS detector at the LHC"

2010-2011 Master: "Systematic uncertainties for photons in all-hadronic supersymmetry searches with the CMS detector"

LinkedIn
Karim Al Abd
ICECUBE, SOLID

2011-2015

2011-2015 PhD: "Measurement of the cosmic ray energy spectrum between 500 TeV and 100 PeV with IceTop"

abd.hajismail@gmail.com
Tom Feusels
IceCube/IceTop

2006-2013

2007-2013 PhD: "Measurement of cosmic ray composition and energy spectrum between 1 PeV and 1 EeV with IceTop and IceCube."
2006-2007 Master: "Coincidentiemetingen van kosmische straling tussen de IceTop en de InIce detector op Antarctica"

feusels.tom@gmail.comWebsite

Graduated Master Students

Tycho Dubois
CMS

2020-2021

tycho.dubois@ugent.be
Niels Van den Bossche
CMS

2020-2021

niels.vandenbossche@ugent.be
Freija Beirnaert
CMS

2020-2021

freija.beirnaert@ugent.be
Steven Mortier
CMS

2019-2020

Ian Bauwens
IceCube

2019-2020

Bernd Herremans
IceCube

2019-2020

Margot Van Cauwenberghe
CMS

2019-2020

Jana Roels
CMS

2018-2019

LinkedIn
Joshua Clercx
CMS

2018-2019

LinkedIn
Simon De Kock
SOLID

2018-2019

LinkedIn
Simon De Kockere
IceCube

2017-2018

LinkedIn